## EUROPEAN COLLEGE OF ANIMAL WELFARE AND BEHAVIOURAL MEDICINE

# AGM 2017, X-Bionic Hotel, Samorin, Slovakia

Friday September 15<sup>th</sup>

# **Minutes**

### Attendance list:

<u>ECAWBM officers present:</u> David Morton, Goncalo da Graca Pereira, Sarah Heath, Lotta Berg, Patricia Turner, Gary Landsberg, Nancy de Briyne, Sagi Denenberg, Jaume Fatjó Ríos.

Participants: Marta Amat Grau, Christine Arhant, David Bailey, Johannes Baumgartner, Claude Beata, Nick Bell, Alice de Boyer des Roches, Tomás Camps Morey, Alessandro Cozzi, John Cranley, Joel Dehasse, Theresa DePorter, Claire Diederich, Silvana Diverio, ALenka Dovċ, Emma Fábrega Romans, Valentina Ferrante, Andrew Gardiner, Emmanuel Gaultier, Angelo Gazzano, Ángela González Martínez, Stefan Gunnarsson, Sabine Hartmann, Anouck Haverbeke, Sara Hintze, Ann-Helena Hokkanen, James Hunt, Laura Hänninen, Vlatko Ilieski, Julie Føske Johnsen, Viktor Jurkovich, Christos Karagiannis, Franziska Kuhne, Christine Leeb, Jacqui Ley, David Main, Xavier Manteca, Chiara Mariti, Cecilie Mejdell, Luc Mounier, Siobhan Mullan, Gerard Muller, Simona Normando, Lorella Notari, Marie Christina Osella, Patrick Pageat, Antonia Patt, Franck Peron, Ludovica Pierantoni, Jolanda Pluymaker, Denise Remy, Paul Roger, Cornelia Rouha-Mülleder, Ester Schalke, Claudia Schmied-Wagner, Kersti Seksel, Carlo Siracusa, Deborah Temple, Aurelie Thomas, Marc Vandenheede, Machteld van Dierendonck, Susanne Waiblinger, Ines Windschnurer, Christoph Winkler, Martin Whiting,

- 1. The President opened the meeting and welcomed the participants.
- 2. List of formal apologies

A total of 29 apologies had been received prior to the meeting. These were: Shana Bergmann, Marta Brcic, Madeleine Campell, Elisabetta Canalli, Emanuela Dalla Costa, Tiny De Keuster, Agnes Fabre-Deloye, Anne Fawcett, Rebeca Garcia, Rahael Guatteo, Alison Hanlon, Kathrin Herrmann, Jan Hultgren, Manuel Magalhães Sant'Ana, Eva Mainau, Giovanna Martelli, Michela Minero, Christel Moons, Eleonora Nannoni, Randi Oppermann Moe, Jorge Palacio, Clara Palestrini, Sheila Robertsson, Eva Soussidou, Solveig Marie Stubsjoen, Eliza van Vollenhoven, Rebecka Westin, Karen von Holleben and Helen Zulch.

- 3. The minutes of the AGM 2016 were adopted (with one abstention), and will be signed by the President.
- 4. Action points from the Board.

#### EBVS related:

- a. A formal title has been established for Diplomates: EBVS Veterinary Specialist in Animal Welfare / Behavioural Medicine respectively.
- b. Introduction to the concept of practicing/non-practising in relation to the EBVS model Constitution and Bylaws. These are now proposed to be referred to as certified or non-certified, but no final decision has yet been made by the EBVS.
- 5. Board Members' reports (President, Secretary, Treasurer, Executive Group Chairs) had been circulated by e-mail well before the AGM. No questions were raised. The President thanked all Committee members for their work during the year. Furthermore, the President commented on the ongoing work on the ECAWBM Policies and Procedures document, and also mentioned some aspects of the Brexit process. Finally, the President wished the new Board all the best for the year to come.

The Treasurer commented on the circulated College accounts for 2016, and the start-up donation made by a number of the initial College members. Nobody has registered a claim of this money. This issue was voted on during the AGM (approved by all but 2 members), and hence this sum will now be transferred into the main body of the accounts. The Treasurer mentioned plans for bursaries and awards for coming conferences, and the President mentioned the possibility of merging BM and AW subcommittees in the future.

The annual account books for 2016 were audited by Stefan Gunnarsson and Christos Karagiannis, and approved. The 2016 accounts were then adopted by the AGM.

- Sub-Committee Reports (Education and Residency (BM and AW), Examination (BM and AW), Credentials (BM and AW), Re-certification (BM), Congress, Nominations) were introduced.
  - a. The AWSEL ExGP Chair Nancy de Briyne thanked the Committee members for their work and mentioned the increasing number of AWSEL residents (now 11, mainly going through the alternative route but there is now also one institution providing a standard route). She encouraged the members to volunteer as supervisors, as there is an increasing demand for Residency possibilities.
  - b. The BM ExGP Chair Sagi Denenberg thanked the Committee members for their input, and mentioned the ongoing work on simplifying the application for entering a programme, and looking at conforming programmes within the

standard route. Also the possibilities of changing mentor/supervisor without undue delay was mentioned, as was the development of the examination to minimize the stress for the candidates. He asked for feedback on what the members regard the most important aspects of being a Diplomate. Furthermore, the Re-certification Committee is working on simplifying the process. Finally, he mentioned the possibility of allowing recognized international experts to sit the exam without going through a Residency process.

7. The ECAWBM 2018 Congress date and location was presented, i.e. Berlin as below.

2018: Berlin, Germany, Slovakia September 27th-29<sup>th</sup>.

2019: The Netherlands (to be confirmed)

2020: Belgium (tentative)

## 8. College matters

a) Associate membership fees. Will be deferred to the new Board.

#### 9. Election of new Board members

The candidates Alessandro Cozzi, Valerie Jonckheer-Sheehy and Nancy de Briyne briefly introduced themselves. No nominations from the floor were made.

The following elections were made by secret ballot and the successful candidates were: Alessandro Cozzi as Vice President Valerie Jonckheer-Sheehy as Secretary Nancy de Briyne as Treasurer

In addition to this, Patricia Turner was appointed as Chair of the AWSEL Executive Group.

### 10. Any other business.

The following announcements were made:

Sarah Heath, a BM Foundation Diplomate and until now ECAWBM treasurer had reached the end of her term. On behalf of the College, the President thanked Sarah for her work for the College over the past years, and she was presented with a diploma and a small gift and token for her work.

Furthermore, the President thanked Gary Landsberg, Jaume Fatjó Ríos and Lotta Berg for their work within the College Board, as they were now leaving the Board, and they were also presented with a gift token from the College Board for their work.

## 11. Date of next meeting

The next AGM will be held in Berlin between September 27-29th 2018.

12. The President closed the meeting.

Secretary

President

**David Morton** 

Lotta Berg